What is Core Sync Mac? Is it Dangerous? Should You Uninstall it?

Must Read
Smriti Razdan
Smriti Razdan
Smriti started her journey by attaining a degree in computer applications. She loves to indulge in reading undiscovered stories only to draw profound explanations about life and its existence. She welcomes you aboard on her expedition of finding herself. Smriti writes her content with a smile on her face hoping to transcend it to her readers.

My friends and I often get into a comparison between macOS and Windows. I always choose the Mac because it is a great option for productivity and adds to my Apple ecosystem. For example, I can easily sync messages from iPhone to a Mac. You can run heavy apps on it, and the system will not take a single hit. Video and photo editing software undoubtedly work flawlessly on Mac. Mac users, after downloading a particular application, see a pop-up of Core Sync but do not know what it is. Therefore, in this article, I will explain What is Core Sync Mac?

Mac users have reported that the Core Sync option appears on the top and asks for permissions such as files and storage. Allowing storage access on your Mac without knowledge may cause potential problems such as data loss and hacked files. On the other hand, not allowing permission may cause some apps to behave unexpectedly. 

Moreover, Core Sync also takes up a lot of space on your Mac. Sometimes, it can go as high as 90% of your total storage. Here, the idea of freeing up storage on Mac makes sense. Just like many Apple users, if you are also facing these issues, then read this article till the end 

What is Core Sync Mac?

What is Core Sync Mac

Core Sync Mac is a process through which your Mac shares the information of your Adobe apps with Adobe Creative Cloud. Being a Mac user, this pop-up will appear only when you currently have any Adobe App or while you are using it. Core Sync is helpful when you edit or rename any type of content that is saved on Adobe cloud. After sync, it gives you seamless access to your uploaded files.

Also, read How to Remove Sim Card From iPhone? Read This Guide to Avoid Breaking Your Sim Tray

Is Core Sync Safe?

What is Core Sync Mac

Course Sync is the name of a process that shares your files with Adobe Creative Cloud. In general, for any application or process that has access to the internet on your Mac and uploads the data, there is a potential risk of losing out personal data. What you must also know is that Core Sync works in the background. However, Core Sync asks for your permission before uploading any file. So you can consider Core Sync as a safe process.

Also, read How to Scan QR Code on iPhone | A Step-by-Step Guide to Start Scanning QR 

Can I Delete Core Sync on My Mac?

What is Core Sync Mac

There are two instances when you may want to delete the Core Sync from your Mac. One is when you are on a trial version and Adobe wants you to uninstall it. The second is because of the redundancy, i.e., you do not require it anymore. In both cases, you can delete Core Sync from your Mac. 

Although, you must ensure that not only the application program (app) has been deleted, but also all the files must be deleted. I highly recommend taking a backup of your data before you plan to delete Core Sync. 

Also, read How to Show Battery Percentage on iPhone 13 | Know your Battery Level in 3 Simple Ways

How to Delete Core Sync on Mac?

Adobe has a dedicated removal tool that allows you to safely remove Adobe programs from your Mac. A lot of Mac users have reported that even after uninstalling the program from their Macs, Core Sync still occupied storage. Therefore, if you have decided to uninstall Core Sync from your Mac, then you must follow these steps correctly:

Step 1: Open Adobe Creative Cloud on your computer and sync all the files to ensure that the backup is completed. 

What is Core Sync Mac

Step 2: Open the Activity Monitor app and close all the Adobe Creative Cloud apps and Core Sync.

What is Core Sync Mac

Step 3: Then search Adobe Support Library and open it to locate the Core Sync folder. Then copy the Core Sync Folder on the Desktop.

What is Core Sync Mac

Step 4: Then download the Creative Cloud Cleaner tool for macOS and hit RUN on the disk image file. 

What is Core Sync Mac

Step 5: Mark yes against all the agreements and wait for the cleaner to uninstall the Adobe Creative Cloud. 

What is Core Sync Mac
What is Core Sync Mac

Also, read How to Share Location on iPhone | A Step-By-Step Guide [Nov. 2022]

Why Does Core Sync Show High CPU Usage?

What is Core Sync Mac? Is it Dangerous? Should You Uninstall it?

Core Sync will show high CPU usage in any one of the two cases.

  • Your Adobe Create Cloud is not up-to-date. Therefore, you must update it immediately.
  • Your Adobe Create Cloud might be a pirated version with some cracked files. Therefore, you must reinstall it because it makes your data more vulnerable to hacking. 

Also, read How to Delete Contacts on Your iPhone? Some Quick And Easy Ways

What is Core Sync Mac?

Wrapping Up

This brings me to the end of the article What is Core Sync Mac? Adobe is a trusted software-based company, so you need not worry about installing the Creative Cloud. Core Sync operates in the background but only to sync your existing files with the cloud. If you have any questions, feel free to drop a comment. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is Core Sync Mac?

A. Course Sync is the name of a process that shares your files with Adobe Creative Cloud. In general, for any application or process that has access to the internet on your Mac and uploads the data, there is a potential risk of losing out personal data. What you must also know is that Core Sync works in the background. However, Core Sync asks for your permission before uploading any file. So you can consider Core Sync as a safe process.

Q. Is Core Sync Safe?

A. There are two instances when you may want to delete the Core Sync from your Mac. One is when you are on a trial version and Adobe wants you to uninstall it. The second is because of the redundancy, i.e., you do not require it anymore. In both cases, you can delete Core Sync from your Mac. 
Although, you must ensure that not only the application program (app) has been deleted, but also all the files must be deleted. I highly recommend taking a backup of your data before you plan to delete Core Sync.

Q. How do I stop background processes on Mac?

A. Core Sync runs in the background of your Mac, so if you wish to stop it from running into the background, you can open Activity Monitor. On the Activity Monitor app, you can find the Core Sync option, select it and click the Stop button which will be available in the top left corner.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This