Was Tim Paine out: Twitterati divided over Australian captain’s dismissal off Ravindra Jadeja in Melbourne Test | The SportsRush

Was Tim Paine out: Twitterati divided over Australian captain’s dismissal off Ravindra Jadeja in Melbourne Test | The SportsRush

Was Tim Paine out: The Australian captain’s dismissal against the Indian all-rounder sparked a massive debate across social media platforms.

During the third day of the second Test of the ongoing India’s tour of Australia in Melbourne, Australia captain Tim Paine’s dismissal became the topic of discussion among commentators and experts and cricket fans across social media platforms.

Paine, who came in to bat at No. 7 in the 47th over, failed to replicate his heroics from the last Test in Adelaide as he departed after scoring 1 (9).

Facing India all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, Paine decided to cut a delivery which bounced more than normal. While Paine missed the opportunity to cut the delivery, India wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant jumped in joy to appeal in the company of captain Ajinkya Rahane.

Just as the umpire ruled the decision in Paine’s favour, Rahane was quick enough to ask for a review. The fact that the Indian captain didn’t care about consulting Pant or Jadeja before opting for a review said a lot about his confidence.

Was Tim Paine out?

Replays began with the third umpire checking on a mark on hotspot. Despite repeated attempts, there was nothing on hotspot which, for a while, gave the impression of Paine having not edged the ball.

Having said that, a spike on the snicko meter said of the otherwise. With the same being enough for the third umpire to have “conclusive evidence” against Paine, the on-field umpire had to reverse his decision which was followed by visual of a fuming Australian captain.

It is worth mentioning that the ICC protocol clearly gives more importance to the real-time snicko. In simple words, a spike on the snicko meter holds more weightage than a Hotspot without a mark. Therefore, there was nothing wrong with the way Paine was given out.

“If the umpire gives it out [and it is reviewed], the third umpire will look at the spin vision replay to start with, then he’ll go to Hot Spot. If there’s a mark on Hot Spot he’ll go straight to out. That’s his conclusive evidence straight away. The only time Snicko will be used is if there’s no mark on Hot Spot,” the then ICC’s head of cricket operations Geoff Allardice had said in Brisbane in 2013.

Source link

READ MORE  Could A Rank Turner At Chennai Hurt India? | India V England

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*