The Witcher Timeline Explained | Know What Happens When!

Must Read
Sarthak Koul
Sarthak Koul
Sarthak brings a technical perspective to the everyday aspects of life through his blogs. Breaking down the storyline of movies and shows is something he enjoys thoroughly. He firmly believes in contributing to this flawed and beautiful world in his own way. His mantra is to take things one day at a time.

While being one of the most successful and popular Netflix Originals, The Witcher is also a bit infamous regarding its somewhat complicated timelines. But fear not! We’re here to help you out of this intertwined timeline mess.

The plot of The witcher primarily follows the story of three lead characters including Geralt of Rivia (played by Henry Cavill), Yennefer of Vengerberg (played by Anya Chalotra), and Princess Cirilla of Cintra (played by Freya Allan).

And while all of these main characters are connected with each other through past, present, and future, Season 1 of The Witcher takes place across multiple timelines, thereby making it tricky and confusing to follow the flow of events.

Read along as we try to streamline The Witcher timeline in one of the most simple yet apt ways that you’ll find on the internet.

The “1210” Timeline

First and foremost, we’ll take a look at the earliest timeline in the series. Although this timeline covers mostly the origin story of Yennefer, the encounter of Geralt and Renfri is supposedly set around the same timeframe.

Also, read The Witcher Season 2 Poster Unveiled At WitcherCon

The flow of events in the episodes during this particular timeline goes something like this:

  • Tissaia de Vries buys Yenn from the latter’s abusive step-dad in episode 2. From there, she gets enrolled in the magic academy of Aretuza wherein she learns enchantments and magic.
  • Cut to episode 3 and we see her transformed into a beautiful image courtesy of an enchantment that fixes her hunched back at the cost of bearing any children in the future. Yenn eventually becomes a part of the Aedrin royal court while Fringilla (one of her classmates) ends up in the kingdom of Nilfgrad, originally assigned to Yennefer.
  • While not related to Yenn’s story, the encounter of Geralt with Renfri in the pilot episode of the first season is set during the same time period. Apart from one of the best sword fights that earned him the nickname of ‘Butcher of Blaviken,’ we’re also introduced to the mage Stregobor.  

Also, check out The Witcher Season 2 Trailer Reveals Geralt’s Journey Home to Kaer Morhen

The “1239” Timeline

This timeline deals with the events that occur through episodes 2 to 4. Here’s how things go down in this timeline

  • Following nearly two decades since the events of Butcher of Blaviken, Geralt meets with our favorite bard, Jaskier and the duo gets abducted by elves. Eventually making their way out, Jaskier comes up with the hit folk song, ‘Toss A Coin To Your Witcher’ in episode 2 with the intent of polishing Geralt’s reputation.
  • Parallelly, Yenn’s story continues in episode 4 where she escorts the Queen Kallis of Lyria and her infant daughter. On their journey, they’re attacked by a mage assassin hired by Kallis’ husband. While Yennefer tries to save the baby, she eventually fails to do so.  
  • In episode 3, Geralt continues his adventures while taking on a job saving the cursed daughter of Temeria’s King Folest.

Also, read The Witcher Season 2 Episode Titles Revealed Except Top-Secret Finale

The Witcher Timeline Explained
Source: Twitter

The “1249” Timeline

Almost 40 years into the events of Yennefer’s origin story, this timeline covers the chronological sequence of events of episodes 4,5, and 6.

  • At the grand feast in episode 4, we get to witness the events that lead to Geralt’s destiny with Ciri. On the refusal of Pavetta (Ciri’s mother) to Queen Calanthe’s choice of suitor, fans are introduced to Ciri’s father, the cursed knight Duny.
  • However, in a series of events wherein Geralt saves the knight’s life, the former claims the Law of Surprise as a form of repayment making the setup for his eventual intertwined destiny with the Child of Surprise, Ciri.
  • In episode 5, while Geralt is trying to save Jaskier from a djinn-inflicted wound, he comes across Yennefer for the first time. Since her not-so-much fun adventures in episode 4, Yenn has now turned into a rogue witch looking for ways to undo the enchantment that cost her the ability to bear children.
  • We get to see yet another encounter of Yennefer and Geralt in episode 6 while hunting for a dragon after the duo split paths in the previous episode. While the hunt doesn’t go as one would have thought, it is revealed that Geralt’s last wish involved binding himself to Yennefer. This fact upsets her which leads to their on-again-off-again relationship.

Also, read The Witcher Season 2 Trailer Reveals The First Episode Is Adapting ‘A Grain Of Truth’

The  “1263” Timeline

This timeline lays major emphasis on Ciri who is the main anchor to the present timeline. Here are the events that take place in this timeline.

  • In episode 7, we see Geralt returning to Cintra to claim his Child of Surprise, Ciri who is presumably around 13 or 14 years old. But as it turns out, he gets tricked into being arrested while the Nilfgaardian forces are on the borders of Cintra ready to conquer the Cintran Empire.
  • During the eventual downfall of Cintra, Calanthe tells Ciri to find Geralt of Rivia (who is still locked up) before throwing herself down a window to her death in the events of episode 1.  
  • In episode 8, the mages and sorcerers of the realm come together to fight in the Battle of Sodden Hill against Fringilla and the Nilfgaardians in order to protect other Northern Kingdoms. While Yennefer definitely takes away the scene with her supreme magical skills, this is the last time that we see her.
  • Meanwhile, amidst the aftermath of the chaos and uncertainty, Geralt and Ciri finally follow through with their destined union in the nearby woods. This marks the end of the first season of The Witcher.

Also, read The Witcher vs. The Game of Thrones: Which Show is Better?

Wrapping Up

We hope that this timeline guide for The Witcher was helpful and informative for you guys. If you enjoyed reading the content, make sure to share the article with your friends who might still be confused over the series’ multiple timelines.

We’d love to hear from you! So, drop down your valuable comments about your thoughts on The Witcher’s timeline. And for more interesting guides and content related to Entertainment, keep visiting Path of EX – Your Spot For Trending Stuff!

Feature Image Credit: YouTube


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This