How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS 17?

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS?

At the WWDC 2023 event, Apple unveiled the release of the iOS 17 version, its mobile operating system update. With the new iOS 17 update, you can FaceTime on Apple TV, use Live Voicemail, and many other hidden features are available. Among them, one of the best features is the Contact Poster. With the new update, you can share a contact poster. But many of you surely do not want to do it due to certain privacy issues. Scroll down and learn steps on how to stop sharing Contact Poster with anyone automatically in iOS 17.

The new Contact Poster feature allows you to see the custom image that appears when someone calls or text you. The Contact Poster includes your name, photo, and background image. With the new Contact Poster feature, you can change contact Photos. By default, iOS shares your Contact Poster with everyone, but you can disable this feature if you want. Also, on your iOS device, if Contact Poster is not working on your iOS 17 device, fix it now. 

In the below post, I will help you with the steps for How to stop sharing Contact Poster with anyone automatically in iOS 17. Also, I will help you know whether it is important to share the contact poster.

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically on iOS 17?

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS?

It might be annoying to automatically share your contact poster with anyone with a similar Apple ID or phone number. Your iOS 17 does this thing by default. But if you don’t want anyone to look at your personal Contact Poster, you can stop sharing it with anyone. Yes, you are reading it correctly. 

You can stop sharing Contact Posterutomatically in iOS 17 on iPhone. Follow the steps below if you want to stop automatically sharing Contact Poster with anyone.

  1. First, launch the Phone app on your iPhone that runs on iOS 17 or later.
  2. Now, from the bottom of the interface, select the Contacts option. You can also open the Contacts application and select your Contact Card at the top.
  3. Next, tap on the Contact Photo and Poster available option.
  4. Then, tap the Always Ask button under the “Share Automatically” menu.
  5. Finally, get out of the application. 

After performing these steps, your iPhone will send you an alert about whether you want to share your Contact Poster when someone who has saved your contact number calls you. If you change your mind, you can again toggle off the Name & Photo Sharing toggle to share your personal Contact Poster with anyone without any restrictions. 

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS 17? Available Options

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS?

In iOS 17 on iPhone, when you stop automatically sharing Contact Poster with anyone, you will notice three options. 

  1. Contacts Only- This is iOS 17’s default setting. This option will let you share your Contact Poster with those who have saved your contact information.
  2. Always Ask- When you choose the “Always Ask” option, your iPhone will alert you every time to share your Contact Poster whenever you call or message someone. If you want to share your Contact Poster with a particular person, you can choose the Yes button for sharing. But if you don’t want to share your Contact Poster, choose the No button when your iPhone asks you about your choice.
  3. Never Share- With this option, you cannot share your Contact Poster with anyone. This option will prevent you from sharing your Contact Poster. 

What Will Happen When You Change Your Contact Photo and Poster Privacy in iOS 17?

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS?

Before changing your Contact Photo and poster privacy in iOS 17 on iPhone, you must ensure your iPhone runs on iOS 17. And once you change the Contact Photo & Poster privacy, not anyone with your contact information will be able to see your Contact Poster. You can choose who can see your Contact Poster by changing the “Always Ask” default setting. 

Is It Important to Stop Sharing Your Contact Poster?

It is completely up to you. You should stop sharing your Contact Poster if you don’t want anyone to see it. If you are also concerned about privacy, stopping sharing your Contact Poster is a good decision. But at any time, you can change your mind and again start sharing your Contact Poster. 

How to Customize Contact Poster?

How to Customize Contact Poster

You are not only able to stop sharing your Contact Poster but also able to customize your Contact Poster according to your preferences. By following the below-mentioned steps, you can easily customize your Contact Poster.

  1. Open the Contacts application on your iPhone.
How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS?

2. Now, select a person’s contact number whose Contact Poster you want to customize and tap on it.

3. Next, choose the Contact Photo & Poster option.

4. Now, you can choose a background image or add any logo under the Contact Poster menu. You can adjust the position and size of your photo and name.

5. After doing the customization, tap on the Done button to save the changes. 

How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS 17?

Wrapping Up

I hope this post on “how to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with anyone automatically in iOS” has helped you understand the steps properly. Also, check the details on the steps to customize the Contact Poster on iOS 17 and check if it is important to share the Contact Poster with your contacts or not. 

Do you find “How to stop sharing Contact Poster with anyone automatically in iOS” informative? Please share your views in the comments section.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. How to Stop Sharing Contact Poster with Anyone Automatically in iOS 17?

Open the Contacts application > Select your Contact Card > Tap on the Contact Photo & Poster option > Click on the Always Ask tab > Exit the app.

2. What is IOS automatic sharing?

This feature automatically gathers and assembles all kinds of content shared with you through iMessage.

3. Can I see my contact photo on my iPhone?

The contact you will call cannot see your contact photo on your iPhone.

4. How do I turn off Apple contact sharing?

Go to Settings > Privacy > Contacts > Toggle off the Contact Sharing button.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *