6 Steps to Block Someone on Snapchat: Under New Update!

Must Read
Shivangi Gupta
Shivangi Gupta
Shivangi adds great value to the team with her prompt and well-researched insight. Her unprecedented love for literature is reflected well enough in her writings. She takes you on a tour to a world apart with the visual imagery in her content that urges the readers to ponder. To get the brain juices flowing, she makes sure to have a brewing cup of coffee next to her all day.

Snapchat users can add you without knowing you in person. Which also means there is a lot of unwanted interaction. If you don’t want to receive snaps or messages, you can block them. Let me tell you how to block someone on Snapchat. Scroll through this article to know what happens when you block someone on Snapchat.

You can get requests on Snapchat from people around you. You can also find people near you to make friends with. If you have been friends with people on Snapchat, you can also know their birthdays. You can easily find someone’s birthday on Snapchat. Snapchat users can know if they are birthday twins with any of their friends on Snapchat from the Charms.

Yet, if you still want to block any unnecessary communication, you can simply block users from your Snapchat. Here is how to block someone on Snapchat.

How to Block Someone on Snapchat?

If you want to block someone on Snapchat, you can do that with a few taps. Since Snapchat has strict guidelines for users, it also supports blocking users who are causing you problems. You can also choose to unblock users. Here is an easy guide on how to block someone on Snapchat.

1. Go to Snapchat on your phone.

2. Long-press on the chat icon of the user you want to block.

3. Tap on View Friendship.

4. Tap on the three dots at the top of your screen.

5. Tap on Manage Friendship.

6. Tap on Block.

Step 6: Finally, give confirmation and hit the Block option again.

Block Someone on Snapchat

In this way, you can block any friend of yours from your Snapchat friend list. If you want to unblock the user after some time, you can do that as well.

Also, read How to Remove 3D Bitmoji on Snapchat in 6 Easy Steps | A Detailed Guide

When You Block Someone on Snapchat, Does It Unfriend Them?

Block Someone on Snapchat

No, when you block someone on Snapchat, it does not unfriend them. The user will be blocked from contacting you any further. You will not receive any snaps or messages from the person you have blocked on Snapchat. The person will not be unfriended from your list. But once you block someone, their chats will be removed from your list as well. But what does blocking someone on Snapchat do for both Snapchatters? Let me tell you all about it.

What Does Blocking Someone on Snapchat Do?

Block Someone on Snapchat

When you block someone on Snapchat, you will not receive any snaps or messages from the person you have blocked. The Snapchatter will not be removed from your friend list either. You can later choose to unblock the user. But the person who has been blocked will not be able to see your account. The Snapchatter will not be able to find your account. They might think that you have deleted your account. But if you change your mind, let me tell you how to unblock someone on Snapchat.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?

If you are curious to know about what happens when you block someone on Snapchat, then here are all the things you need to take note of before blocking someone on Snapchat.

  1. The most important thing is they can’t send you snaps anymore.
  2. They will not get notified about your blocking them.
  3. They can’t add you back to Snapchat, as they will no longer be able to see your profile.
  4. They will not find your account if they look for it in search.
  5. A blocked person cannot see your Snapchat stories.
  6. They can’t chat with you because they will not find your profile.
  7. All the chats between you and them will be deleted for you, but the person can still see the chat.
  8. The blocked person will be removed from your Best Friends list.
  9. As the chat remains enacted for them, so if they screenshot it, you won’t be notified.

Will Someone Know You Have Blocked Them on Snapchat?

Will Someone Know You Have Blocked Them on Snapchat?

Well, there is no sure-shot way of telling if someone has blocked you. But if you send snaps to each other daily, it is apparent that the other person will get to know that you have blocked them on Snapchat as they will no longer be able to send or receive snaps to you and from you. And this will confirm to the other person that you have blocked them. And there are other ways they can use to assure themselves that you’ve blocked them.

Also, read What Does The X Mean On Snapchat (2022) | How To Remove ‘Grey X’ On Snapchat?

Alternatives to Blocking Someone on Snapchat

If you don’t want to do something as extreme as blocking someone, you can always opt for other options which are available to you on the platform. And below is the list of options you can try out instead of blocking someone.

  1. The first thing you can do instead of blocking them is to unfriend them. Unfriend means you are removing that person from your friend list.
  2. You can change your Privacy settings to My Friends as often people who are not even your friends can send you snaps and chat if you didn’t change it in your privacy setting.
  3. You can use the ‘Do Not Disturb’ feature.
  4. You can block people from seeing your Stories on Snapchat.

Why is Blocking Option Important in Snapchat?

Why is Blocking Option Important in Snapchat?

If you ever feel like blocking someone on Snapchat, there might be a solid reason behind it. And you should never hesitate to block someone if it is causing you a great loss of your sanity. Because blocking gives you the necessary emotional and mental space, you need when you strongly feel like blocking someone out for any bad reason. Yes! It is necessary, and in the end, you need to create certain boundaries to feel secure and have positivity in your life. And this makes the Blocking option really important on any social media platform.

Also, read How To Make A Public Profile On Snapchat | Create Large Audience

How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

If you have changed your mind about someone you have blocked, you can unblock them as well. You can easily unblock someone on the app. Let me tell you how to unblock someone on Snapchat.

1. Head over to Snapchat.

2. Tap on your Bitmoji.

3. Tap on the Settings icon. You will be able to locate this in the top-right corner of your screen.

4. Tap on Accounts Action.

5. Tap on Blocked.

6. You will be able to see all the Snapchat users you have blocked. Tap on the username that you want to unblock.

7. Tap on Yes to confirm.

Block Someone on Snapchat

Wrapping Up

With this, I came to the end of this blog, and I hope now you know how to block someone on Snapchat and what happens when you block someone on Snapchat. I also suggested you some of the alternatives to blocking that will help you deal with different situations accordingly. In the end, I also mentioned how to unblock someone on Snapchat guide in case you need it someday. But before unblocking, you should always look at why it is important to block so that you can decide what is best for you.

So, guys, that’s it. Take care! And keep visiting our website, Path of Ex, for more such queries related to Social media, Gaming, and Technology. Bye! Bye!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

More Articles Like This