While some conversations on LinkedIn are fun and help you make great connections, there are other messages that you just want to avoid. So, does LinkedIn show when you read a message? This question becomes important when you’re trying to ignore someone on the platform.
LinkedIn is a platform where you need to interact with people by approaching them through messages, LinkedIn InMails, and mutual connections. But what if someone sent you something that you don’t want to reply to, but at the same time, you don’t want to seem rude by showing that you have seen the message and have not replied? There is a strategy to escape this which I will tell you in this blog.
I have mentioned all the important details of does LinkedIn show when you read a message. You can quickly scroll down and grasp all the information in this article.
In This Article
Does LinkedIn Show When You Read a Message?

Yes! LinkedIn shows when you’ve read a message. LinkedIn users can even see at what time the message was seen by the person. But this will not happen if the person is not connected to you on LinkedIn. So, make sure that you are connected to the person beforehand.
Also, this feature of being able to see the read messages is due to the read receipts option. By default, the read receipts option is on, which allows you to see whether the message is seen or not.
How to See If Someone Has Read Your Messages on LinkedIn?
To know a way to see if someone has read your message on the LinkedIn app or on your desktop, here are the steps mentioned below:
1. Open your LinkedIn and navigate to the message section.

2. Open the Chat of the person and see the last message that you sent them.

3. You will see a small circle beneath your last message with their dp. This indicates that the message has been seen.

4. When you will hover over the small circle, you will see the exact time when the message was seen.
And that’s it. This is how to see if someone has read your message on LinkedIn, along with the exact time it was seen.
How to Turn Off Read Receipts on LinkedIn?

Now that you know how to see if someone has read your messages on LinkedIn, I will tell you how to escape from it. Here are the ways mentioned below to turn off the read receipts option for both desktops and mobile devices.
How to Turn Off the Read Receipts on Desktop?
In order to turn off the read receipts option on your desktops, you need to follow the steps mentioned below:
1. Open the LinkedIn profile and tap on the Me icon at the top of the screen.

2. Tap your profile photo, then tap the Settings and Privacy option.
3. Then tap on the Data Privacy option.

4. Scroll down and under the Messaging experience section, tap Read receipts and typing indicators.

5. Under Delivery indicators, switch the toggle to the left to turn this feature Off.

And that’s it. You have successfully turned off the read receipts option on LinkedIn.
How to Turn Off the Read Receipts on Mobile?
If you want to turn off the read receipts option on Mobile, here is all you need to do.
1. Open the LinkedIn app and tap on your profile icon in the top left corner.
2. Tap on the Settings at the bottom.
3. Then tap on the Data Privacy option.

4. Under the Messaging experience section, tap Read receipts and typing indicators.

5. Then, swipe the toggle to the left to turn it off.
And that’s it. You have successfully turned the toggle off for read receipts option.
Wrapping Up
In this blog, I have mentioned all the essential details and information about does LinkedIn show when you read a message. I hope this information will serve you well and in your best interest. If you have any doubts or suggestions, feel free to comment down below. We will reach out to you soon. To read more about such informative and interesting blogs, keep visiting our website, Path of EX. Have a great day ahead!
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What does the check mark mean on LinkedIn messages?
LinkedIn has been giving you both delivery and read receipts, but you may not have noticed that before. When a message is sent, it has a tick beside it that tells you the message has been delivered but not yet read by the recipient.
2. What does the check mark mean on LinkedIn messages?
A checkmark on a LinkedIn message means that the message has been delivered but not necessarily opened or read. LinkedIn uses different icons to show the status of your messages. In addition to the read receipt on LinkedIn, you can also find out when your LinkedIn message was seen.
3. Can you Unsend a message on LinkedIn?
No, you cannot unsend a message in any way on LinkedIn. You can only edit or delete a message within 60 minutes of sending the message. You can’t retrieve a deleted message. When you delete a message, it is deleted for all participants in the conversation. When a message is edited or deleted, an edited or deleted badge is displayed to all participants in the conversation.
4. When you delete a conversation on LinkedIn, does the other person know?
No, the other person will know nothing about it because the conversation thread will only be deleted from your inbox and not from the recipient’s.




